Welcome to WeAreSMRT.com. Click here to register

Please can I stay ?

Come in, be welcome, introduce yourselves...

Please can I stay ?

Postby ajbjasus » Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:31 am

After making a few sporadic posts I spotted the foyer, so somewhat belatedly I would like to introduce myself and see if you'll let me stay.

I think I've always been an athiest, but never thought to label myself as such, since I'm not very good at clubs, societies and commitees.

The religious boys had their chance to brainwash me - at the age of 11 I won a scholarship to a school established for the education of the sons of methodist ministers. My parents weren't in the least bit religious, but since this was a fancy UK public school, and they could never have afforded to send me to one, off I went !

To be fair, even though I went to chapel every day, it generally wasn't too heavy - just a bit miserable, in that special way the methodists have. I do recall two occasions when trainee teachers on secondment did things like preach a sermon about the lake of fire, and glibly mention that in biblical times people lived for hundreds of years. We all just dismissed it as silliness, and never gave it a second thought.

I then won another scholarship to study biochemistry at Oxford a four year course ! Academically it was magical, and we had the real sense that we were realling getting insights into what life was all about and how it worked. I remember thinking that it would be great if everyone could share that insight, but it really only came after many years of study. I first encountered Richard Dawkins there - it was around the selfish gene time, and atheism wasn't on the agenda.