Welcome to WeAreSMRT.com. Click here to register

broke town

A place for members to help other members with questions about how to navigate the forums, how to post, ect. Feel free to make suggestions here as well.

Yes, we can all read the FAQ, but sometimes the question either isn't covered or it just makes more sense coming from a fellow member.

Re: broke town

Postby vms » Tue Aug 30, 2011 2:11 am

HTTP Error 500 is an Internal server error

I can't restart Apache or MySQL because that's server software and we don't have control over it. What I did is open a ticket with BlueHost. I'll let everyone know when I get a response.

Vagon, don't you have access to cPanel? If you need the username/password then PM me.

Edit: Note: If you get error 500 when you submit a post don't submit it again, it does go thru.
Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing had happened.--Winston Churchill

The greatest ignorance is to reject something you know nothing about.--H. Jackson Brown, Jr.
User avatar
vms
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5597
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: broke town

Postby Vagon » Tue Aug 30, 2011 11:37 pm

I do have access to it however I don't have access from work.
They block cPanel and I could never figure how to do SSH tunnelling because I think our network is configured against that too.

Cheers
"Jesus said its gonna be alright; he's gonna pack my bags so I can walk in the light; you don't mind if I abuse myself so I can hold my head up?" The Choirboys
User avatar
Vagon
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:44 am
Location: Sydney

Re: broke town

Postby vms » Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:03 am

This is what I got from tech support:

Hello VMS,

The logs that you provided are the main error logs, which show errors for everyone on the entire shared server. Unless those logs mention your domain or username then they are not
affecting you.

A 500 internal server error can be displayed for multiple different reasons. It can be thrown when there is an incorrect redirect or rewrite rule stated in the .htaccess file. You can troubleshoot this issue by simply renaming the .htaccess file, effectively deactivating it. After renaming it, try reloading the page that was giving the 500 error, (you may need to clear your cache). If you need help renaming the .htaccess file, please follow these steps:

Login to your Cpanel
Scroll down to Files
Click on File Manager
Choose Web Root, also make sure that you also check the box to show hidden files.
Click Go
On the right side, look for the .htaccess file. Right click on it, and click rename file (rename it to something like .htaccess.old)

If this does not resolve the issue, please let us know. If it does, this tells you that there is something in the .htaccess file that is causing the error, some kind of redirect or rewrite that has been created.



Thank you,
Susan
Level I Tech Support Engineer
BlueHost.com
888.401.4678

Most questions can be answered by articles in our forum, knowledgebase, and video tutorials:

Forum: http://www.bluehostforum.com
Knowledgebase: https://www.bluehost.com/cgi/help
Tutorials: http://www.bluehost.com/tutorials/
Server Status: http://serverstatus.bluehost.com/

When you have a new question or issue, please open a new support ticket.


So they're not being much help. That .htaccess file was last modified in 2010. In a previous e-mail they want me to contact them via chat when the problem is occurring. Of course I can't get the error to appear again. Maybe a server load issue? More than one client shares the same server so we're not the only one on the server.
Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing had happened.--Winston Churchill

The greatest ignorance is to reject something you know nothing about.--H. Jackson Brown, Jr.
User avatar
vms
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5597
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: broke town

Postby vms » Fri Sep 02, 2011 6:45 pm

Still not much help from tech support:

Hello,
Thank you for writing. Having intermittent 500 errors indicates that there are
elements changing which are causing the errors. This can be caused by a script
that is running slowly, and not completing in line with the rest of the
scripts, a script that is changing htaccess/php.ini configurations, or a
number of other reasons. Taking a look at the account I see that there is a
large amount of throttling happening on your account. This is due to your CPU
usage, which is attempting to do more than a shared hosting environment is
typically capable of. We are working to keep the site active, while
preventing any other accounts on your server from being affected.

I recommend removing any plugins, modules or extensions you don't need and
enabling caching on your scripts. Taking a look at your ~/tmp/mysql_slow_logs
directory I see that your scripts are often going slow, specifically for the
phpbb database. I would suggest taking steps to reduce the amount of load this
is utilizing. You can find some tips for optimizing phpbb at the links below.

If you are unable to reduce CPU usage on the account and are unable to
tolerate the slowdown you're experiencing your only option is to upgrade to a
VPS or dedicated hosting solution, which we do not provide. You can find
options for that type of service through a simple Google search.

If you'd like you can read more about CPU Throttling at
http://www.mattheaton.com/?p=208

http://kb.siteground.com/article/How_to ... mance.html
http://www.phpbb.com/customise/db/mod/d ... pair_tool/


So they're basically saying we're causing the problem. Don't what to do at this point.
Men occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing had happened.--Winston Churchill

The greatest ignorance is to reject something you know nothing about.--H. Jackson Brown, Jr.
User avatar
vms
Site Admin
 
Posts: 5597
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 12:17 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA

Re: broke town

Postby Vagon » Sun Sep 04, 2011 11:35 pm

To be honest if you've restarted the services and its still appearing it is probably this:
"Maybe a server load issue? More than one client shares the same server so we're not the only one on the server."

That said it looks like a new version of phpbb is out, we could upgrade to it and if it was a missing file issue it might be resolved.
I doubt its a missing file though as no one has touched the file manager and an upgrade could bring in more issues...
"Jesus said its gonna be alright; he's gonna pack my bags so I can walk in the light; you don't mind if I abuse myself so I can hold my head up?" The Choirboys
User avatar
Vagon
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2904
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:44 am
Location: Sydney

Previous

Return to Navigation/Forum Help & Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests